Cube Runner; a biased review

01Aug08

Cube Runner, designed by Andy Qua, was the first app I downloaded for my iPod Touch, mainly because it was free and I was eager to watch my first app download and install.  I kept it because it’s actually fun to play because of its simplicity.

You are an arrow shaped airplane thingie dodging squares as you glide on a 3D horizontal plane. That’s it. If you hit a square, you explode into pieces.

Now, in my small circle of friends, there is some resentment as to why I like the game. Kaywood says that it’s TOO simple and not visually stimulating enough to even be recognized as a game. He tried it one time and sucked at it, I’m sure. When I reached the area of the map that magically changes everything into xray mode, I showed him. He said, “If the whole game was like that he would play it” What the fuck!

Today I was playing Cuberunner and had an idea to aid in the control of the game. I pierced a chopstick through the back of my rubberized ipod case for handlebars.
img
I can play Cube Runner with handlebars….

With Handlebars….

I’ll play this game whenever I have time. It’s smooth and responsive like every app should be (Twinkle!!) While it may not be as cool as Aurora Feint or as saucy as Hold ‘em, it’s the essence of what a video game should be. Fun.



9 Responses to “Cube Runner; a biased review”

  1. Cyberunner rules. It’s simple and fun to play. Good write up.


  1. 1 appleforapple.com » Favorite iPhone apps: Giles’ take
  2. 2 Favorite iPhone apps: Giles’ take
  3. 3 Apple iPhone Apps - Favorite iPhone apps: Giles’ take | iFones.com Apple iPhone 3G News
  4. 4 Favorite iPhone apps: Giles’ take | iPhone Firmware
  5. 5 My Feeds » Blog Archive » Favorite iPhone apps: Giles’ take
  6. 6 andreas04: close to attraction
  7. 7 iPhone Software » Blog Archive » Favorite iPhone apps: Giles’ take
  8. 8 Apple iPhone App Review - Favorite iPhone apps: Giles’ take | iFones.com Apple iPhone 3G News

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

